What IELTS score do nurses need for Canada?

The minimum IELTS (Ontario, CNO: General or Academic) score for Canada is overall 7, listening 7, reading 6.5, writing 6.5, speaking 7; the source does not state a validity period (source: cno.org, checked 29 October 2026).

Practise now

The requirement, row by row

Each regulator or test variant has its own row, with its source link and the date we checked it.

  • IELTS (Ontario, CNO: General or Academic)

    Minimum score
    overall 7, listening 7, reading 6.5, writing 6.5, speaking 7
    Validity
    the source does not state a validity period
    Notes
    Same attempt (One Skill Retake within 60 days allowed). Policy revised 12 Aug 2024.
    Checked 29 October 2026Source: cno.org
  • IELTS Academic (Alberta, CRNA)

    Minimum score
    overall 7, listening 7, reading 6.5, writing 6.5, speaking 7
    Validity
    the result is valid for 2 years
    Notes
    CRNA accepts only IELTS Academic and CELBAN (L9 R8 W7 S8); valid 2 years.
    Checked 29 October 2026Source: nurses.ab.ca

How to book

Book only through the official provider. Confirm the test date and the rules on that page before you pay.

Other exams for Canada

Other tests and exams that our data lists for this country.

Free practice for IELTS

Start with 5 free questions. This practice pool has 820 questions.

Practice questions are original, drafted with automated tools and checked by automated review steps. Not official exam material and not reviewed one by one by a licensed nurse. Not affiliated with any exam body. For exam practice only, not for patient care.

Questions and answers

What IELTS score do nurses need for Canada?

The minimum IELTS (Ontario, CNO: General or Academic) score for Canada is overall 7, listening 7, reading 6.5, writing 6.5, speaking 7; the source does not state a validity period (source: cno.org, checked 29 October 2026).

How long is the result valid in Canada?

IELTS (Ontario, CNO: General or Academic): the source does not state a validity period. IELTS Academic (Alberta, CRNA): the result is valid for 2 years.

How do nurses book IELTS in Canada?

Book the test on the official site of the test owner. Official booking and information pages from our checked data: Book an IELTS test (IELTS (official test owners)): https://ielts.org/take-a-test/booking-your-test.

Which other exams does Canada list?

CELBAN (Ontario, CNO): listening 9, reading 8, writing 7, speaking 8; OET (Ontario, CNO): listening B (350), reading C+ (330), writing C+ (320), speaking B (350).

General information from official sources, not legal or immigration advice.