What IELTS score do nurses need for Australia?
The minimum IELTS Academic score for Australia is overall 7, listening 7, reading 7, writing 6.5, speaking 7; the source does not state a validity period (source: ahpra.gov.au, checked 29 October 2026).
The requirement, row by row
Each regulator or test variant has its own row, with its source link and the date we checked it.
IELTS Academic
- Minimum score
- overall 7, listening 7, reading 7, writing 6.5, speaking 7
- Validity
- the source does not state a validity period
- Notes
- Tests on or after 23 Apr 2026 (unchanged from before). Up to two sittings of the same test within 12 months; in two sittings no component below 6.5.
How to book
Book only through the official provider. Confirm the test date and the rules on that page before you pay.
- IELTS (official test owners)Book an IELTS testChecked 31 October 2026
Other exams for Australia
Other tests and exams that our data lists for this country.
- OETlistening 350, reading 360, writing 350, speaking 360Checked 29 October 2026 · Source: ahpra.gov.au
- PTE Academicoverall 63, listening 58, reading 59, writing 60, speaking 76Checked 29 October 2026 · Source: ahpra.gov.au
- TOEFL iBToverall 91, listening 22, reading 22, writing 23, speaking 24Checked 29 October 2026 · Source: ahpra.gov.au
- Cambridge C1 Advancedoverall 178, listening 175, reading 179, writing 180, speaking 194Checked 29 October 2026 · Source: ahpra.gov.au
Free practice for IELTS
Start with 5 free questions. This practice pool has 820 questions.
Practice questions are original, drafted with automated tools and checked by automated review steps. Not official exam material and not reviewed one by one by a licensed nurse. Not affiliated with any exam body. For exam practice only, not for patient care.
Next steps for Australia
Questions and answers
What IELTS score do nurses need for Australia?
The minimum IELTS Academic score for Australia is overall 7, listening 7, reading 7, writing 6.5, speaking 7; the source does not state a validity period (source: ahpra.gov.au, checked 29 October 2026).
How long is the result valid in Australia?
IELTS Academic: the source does not state a validity period.
How do nurses book IELTS in Australia?
Book the test on the official site of the test owner. Official booking and information pages from our checked data: Book an IELTS test (IELTS (official test owners)): https://ielts.org/take-a-test/booking-your-test.
Which other exams does Australia list?
OET: listening 350, reading 360, writing 350, speaking 360; PTE Academic: overall 63, listening 58, reading 59, writing 60, speaking 76; TOEFL iBT: overall 91, listening 22, reading 22, writing 23, speaking 24; Cambridge C1 Advanced: overall 178, listening 175, reading 179, writing 180, speaking 194.
General information from official sources, not legal or immigration advice.